Te Puke Times - 2021-11-25


Te Puke along for the ride as Katikati power home


CRICKET The Te Puke entrants in the Classic Builders Reserve Grade first round competition had the best seat in the house as Katikati players grabbed the rare double of six wickets and a century in a match. The home side batted first at the Te Puke Domain and were bowled out for 181. Katikati stalwart Ben Warren mesmerised the Te Puke batsmen, taking six wickets at a cost of 32 runs, from just 8.4 overs. Simon Eves was like a shining beacon for Te Puke, top scoring with 82 runs, with his side’s next best being 21. Matt Earl, who is another longtime member of the club from the Western Bay extremities, took control of his side’s destiny making 113 not out, as Katikati got home with five wickets to spare. Earl’s big score came from 122 balls with seventeen fours and a big heave over the Te Puke Domain boundary ropes. The Don Warner Trophy changed hands, with Pa¯pa¯moa relieving Aquinas College of the challenge prize. Pa¯ pa¯ moa were in the box seat after reaching 239/9 in their turn at bat. Aman Mahal (64), Daljit Singh (41) and Xavier Lee (33) did the damage, with Asa Banbury taking three wickets for the Aquinas students. Banbury then showed his allround skills, top scoring with a gritty 48 runs. Vishal Goundar was in top form taking five wickets at a cost of 19 runs, as Aquinas College were removed for 135. Papaoma’s and Grasshoppers, engaged in a battle of attrition in their Classic Builders B Grade encounter at Mitchell Park. Nitin Bindal led the OMA’S batting attack, with a sparkling 79 runs in his side’s offering of 189/4. The Hoppers were in the run chase all the way with the match on a knife edge in the last two overs. Tight bowling stymied Grasshoppers’ desperate attempt to hit out, with the Pa¯pa¯moa third eleven prevailing by five runs. Te Puke Green dinted their reputation, when they lost the battle between two unbeaten teams in pool one. The TBC 3rd XI batted first to set their opponents a sizeable target finishing at 221/5. Barnjit Singh top scored with 43 runs, as the Te Puke representatives were bowled out for 140 to hand the Tauranga Boys’ side a 71-run win. Te Puke Blue flew the flag of victory for the Te Puke club with a big win against Katikati Singh XI. A Bikram Sandhu half century, supported by solid efforts from Tejveer Singh and HS Dhillon took Te Puke Blue through to 224/9. The match ended with the fifth ball of the 31st over, with Katikati bowled out for 96. Srikanth Vermuri (4/25) Happy Singh (3/15) did the damage in the 128-run win. Classic Builders Reserve Grade Results November 20: Te Puke 181 (Simon Eves 82; Ben Warren 6/32) lost to Katikati 182/5 (Matt Earl 113no) Papamoa 239/9 (Aman Mahal 64, Daljit Singh 41, Xavier Lee 32; Asa Banbury 3/68) defeated Aquinas College 135 (Asa Banbury 48; Vishal Goundar 5/19, X Lee 3/16) Points Table (Provisional) Mount Maunganui 76, Papamoa 66, R&A Sangha 65, United Indians 64, Katikati 61, Greerton 54, Cadets 43, Hawks 39, Aquinas College 35, Tauranga Boys College 334, Te Puke 26. Classic Builders B Grade: Pool One: TBC 3rd XI 211/7 (Bryn Roberton 47, Alex Peterson 36) defeated Te Puke Green 140 (Barnjit Singh 43, Bryn Robertson 3/26, Jake Stott 3/37) Points Table (Provisional) Hawks 23, TBC 3rd XI 23, Te Puke Green 17, Greerton 17, Mount Maunganui 12, R&A Sangha 11, Albion 6, Katikati 5. Pool Two: Papaoma’s 189/4 (Nitin Bindal 79) defeated Grasshoppers 184/7 (Craig Williamson 43) Te Puke Blue 224/9 (Bikram Sandhu 62, Tejveer Singh 41, HS Dhillon 33; Rashampreet Singh 5/56) defeated Katikati Singh XI 96 (Srikanth Vermuri 4/25, Happy Singh 3/15) Points Table: Points Table (Provisional) Te Puke Blue 23, Grasshoppers 18, Papaoma’s 17, Bay Blasters 12, Cadets 11, TBC 4th XI 11, Mount Maunganui Inanga 11, Katikati Singh XI 5.


© PressReader. All rights reserved.